Style Inspiration from Winter to Spring

Well hey there! Long time no see. I’ve FINALLY gotten back to blogging after a several month hiatus (oops!). A while back I hit a bit of a block where I never had the energy or creative mindset to work on Heart of A Girl. Even when I had time to sit down and do it, I never felt like putting in the effort to write new posts, despite the fact I already had several things lined up. So after many months of being lazy and unproductive I am ready to give blogging another shot! Hopefully I will be able to stick with it a little better this time and actually be consistent in posting new content. Wish me luck!

Anyways, I have always been obsessed with finding new outfit ideas on Pinterest and other blogs so I decided it was finally time to share some of the outfits I have been wearing a lot lately. Hopefully these will give you some style inspiration on things to wear this time of year. Depending on where you live you may still be stuck in winter, or you may be experiencing the first warm days of spring like we are here in DC. This time of year I find that layers are the best option for everyday life since the weather can be a bit unpredictable. I also like to use this transitional period between winter and spring to mix some of my favorite cold weather pieces with fun spring colors and accessories. It’s a great way to get the most wear out of your best-loved sweaters and vests before you have to put them away for the year.

Loose Sweaters and Light Tops    One of my go-to styles this time of year is to throw a knit sweater on over a light tank or tee. It’s the perfect blend of warm and cozy for when the day’s a little cool but also light and airy if it gets too warm out. I usually wear more neutrals when it’s cooler out, but as it starts to get warmer I’ll add a pop of spring color with a bright shirt.

img_2483 img_2495 img_2530

Puffer Vest and Leggings     Vests in my mind are an essential item to have in one’s closet. They add just enough warmth when it’s chilly out without being too hot. Plus they always look cute! Since there are a lot of days when I go straight from working at the gym to doing something after, I like to have an outfit I can easily change into. I will usually pop on a shirt or sweater over my leggings and often add a vest for one more layer. Luckily, athlesuire wear is totally in style right now which makes my life so much easier!

img_2507 img_2509

Preppy Layers    Being a true New Englander, I always love a little bit of prep in my style. Sperrys are without a doubt my favorite shoe, and just ask my friends and they’ll tell you half my closet is blue and white stripes. I just can’t help myself! So here are a few of the ways I have been layering some of these pieces lately.

img_2514img_2536img_2533

I hope this gives you some ideas about what types of things to wear during this weird-weather time of year. Luckily spring is just around the corner which means warmer days, brighter colors, and lighter clothing! Stay tuned for a spring style post coming in the next few weeks. See ya!

Leave a Reply

